In the Highest

I could hear my husband outside, singing worship songs at the top of his voice (something you can do when you live in the country). This is part of his daily routine.  Before me was my open Bible and the journal I use to actively read it.  Mark 11 was the text.  Mark 11 is all about prayer.

The day before I had been discussing Psalm 149 with some friends.  It says “Let the saints be joyful in glory; Let them sing aloud on their beds. Let the high praises of God be in their mouth, and a two-edged sword in their hand. . .”

And I prayed . . . Lord, teach me what “high praises” are! Praises like Judah’s, sent before your army; praises that unleashed your kingdom presence and your angelic armies.  Teach me Lord! What are high praises?

High praises . . . . Hosanna (save now!) in the highest; Lord, what are You saying to me today? Hosanna is a victorious, yet humble praise; acknowledging only God can save, acknowledging that He is our Victor.  I thought of an old song “The victory is mine when the battle is the Lord’s, Hosanna, Hosanna! No enemy can stand when His praise goes forth, Hosanna, Hosanna!”

And then I thought of the armor of God, the last element of which is “praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit” (Eph. 6:18).

Holy Spirit loves for us to ask Him.  I think sometimes He’s like a Father who has the coolest gift wrapped under the Christmas tree for His child and more excited than the child to see it unwrapped.

High praises are victorious praises.  High praises recognize we fight from a position of victory. The cry “save now!” is a faith cry, both intercessory and joyous, a secure son bold in his Father’s power.  I realized that my prayer life had devolved into more begging than believing.  So many sick and lost and addicted and chained.  I needed this reminder.  The battle is the Lord’s.  The victory is won.  My job? to let the Kingdom manifest in me through  high praises.

Remember my husband outside singing? Once in awhile the dots connect.

Hosanna!

2 thoughts on “In the Highest

Leave a Reply

