Alone/Never Alone

In Kansas City is the International House of Prayer, where worship is happening 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, continuously.  It’s a remarkable place.  People come from all over the world.

While Dear Husband is in Nicaragua, I drove myself to Kansas City and stayed two nights, visiting the House of Prayer.

Each worship team sings/plays instruments/intercedes for two-hour blocs of time.  During some of the blocs, they have what they call rapid fire prayer.  A line forms of people interceding for five to seven seconds on a topic announced via overhead screens.  While I was there I heard people praying in German, Spanish, English (Australian and UK included) and a language that was probably an African dialect. There were children, there were old people, there were many college-age people.

There is an amazing atmosphere.  When I pull my car into the parking lot, it feels like I’m coming home – I can barely wait to get inside.  And then, once in, time stops.  Because I didn’t have any obligations, I could just stay and worship and pray with no regard to the clock.  Hours pass without notice.

I did take one afternoon to go to the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, my trusty GPS app talking me through every turn.  What a joy to go alone-not that I don’t love to have lots of people around-but I could stand and stare at the Monet for as long as I wanted.  I went through the visiting Vermeer exhibit at my own pace, lingering or not as I chose. The Nelson-Atkins is featuring several Rodin bronzes.  This is “Adam”, part of a grouping that Rodin was doing to depict Dante’s Inferno.  It’s well over six feet tall, not including the bronze base.

This is one of several fresh flower arrangements at the museum.  It looked like a Dutch Master still life. I could smell the fragrance of the lilies before I could see it.

2016-02-24 16.01.41

 

And here . . . . the Van Gogh I could look at all day; and nearly did:

2016-02-24 15.36.06

I could hardly believe it was okay to photograph them, but it was just fine.

I’m home again.  Unpacking, sorting mail, looking forward to a visit from the grandkids later.  Mommy has had them alone for the last eight days while Dear Son is also in Nicaragua.

I was there alone.  But not alone.  Never alone.  Always following the Shepherd, Who is with me. If I am the temple of the Holy Spirit (I Corinthians 6:19) then I am, myself, a House of Prayer. Won’t you join me?

2 thoughts on “Alone/Never Alone

    • I feel bad that I haven’t been to your site to let you know I’m in the audience. I do read your posts when they show up on my phone. You are, as always, in my prayers, for your health and that of your family, for your mom and dad, for Little Cutie (how our God loves to bring us blessings in disguise!), and for you to have the time you need for physical stamina. Bless you, sister.

Leave a Reply

